For my first post, I thought I would share the story of how I arrived at sharing my life with my cat, Belle.

Last Thanksgiving, I went home for the week, like all good college students. While there, I spent some time talking with my father about my desire to have a cat. I had been watching Cats 101 on Animal Planet, and told him that I dreamed of one day owning a Russian Blue cat.

I described my reasoning, “I just want a cat who will be mine. Someone to love me when I get home at the end of day. I want someone to play with. After leaving home, you don’t have a family to rely on anymore, and until you get married, you don’t really have that. Either way, it’s not the same as when I was a kid. Also, Russian Blue Cats seem awesome!”

He told me then that my mom and him had been looking at buying a Russian Blue cat while we were younger. We ended up receiving a cat who needed a home when her owner had to move to the old neighbor home. That cat, Tipper, was an amazing pet who is still kicking at 20 years!

After this conversation, I thought it was over. I knew I couldn’t afford a cat in college, and I also understood that it would be majorly irresponsible to own a cat when I didn’t know if I could keep the pet after I graduated. I had (and still have) no idea of where I’m going to end up.

Fast forward a month to the Friday of finals week….

My mother called asking, “Can you do dinner on Saturday?”

“No,” I replied. “It will be the first time I’ve seen my boyfriend all week, he’ll be leaving for Christmas break (which is a whole month) this weekend and we will be having our Christmas exchange tomorrow night. Can’t we do it Sunday? Or when I come home next week?”

“No, we really need to see you tomorrow night. We need you to sign something, it has to be signed by Sunday,” she argued.

“Umm, it needs to be signed on a Saturday night?? That makes no sense. I am always available when you want to visit, and you always say that if I can’t see you, it’s okay. I’m just asking for one night!”

“I’m putting your father on the phone.” At this point, I knew it was over. I was near tears, because I was so exhausted from finals and stressed that my parents couldn’t just give me one night.

My father talked to me, and just talked me into it. I told him that I would give him five minutes, sign the sheet, and that would be it.

Saturday rolls around, and I haven’t heard from my parents, but I have heard from the boyfriend, Mr. Jeff. We have plans to grab dinner and hang out, which is our standard go to date plan.

As I’m walking out the door to hop in my car, I receive a text from my sister saying that my family will be there in five minutes. Something is up, I can sense it. Why would my entire family come on a trip for me to sign something? And why aren’t we meeting at a restaurant like they had previously suggested we do?

My family pulls up in the driveway, and I head out to greet them.

I demand to know where the paper is, and my mom pulls out a piece for me to sign. She asks if they get to go inside, and I’m just like, “No, I’m going to sign this, because I need to go pick up Mr. Jeff.”

She asks if I want to know what I’m signing, and I say, “No, I don’t care. You’re my parents, I trust you.” After some cajoling, she convinces me to read it and the paper says:

I, Emily Martens, promise to adopt, love, and take responsibility for Emma Martens.

What on Earth? I couldn’t figure out what was happening. I was so confused that I thought they were giving me some elderly person.

My sister, Allison, gets out of the backseat with some kind of cage.

I’m like what is that??!!

I look inside and it was a kitten!

Holy crap, my family gave me a cat! I frantically call Mr. Jeff, telling him that I will be there a little later, my parents got me a cat! He was just like what…and then I hung up on him.

After a few minutes of meeting this kitten, who was a Russian Blue, and named Emma, I go to pick up Mr. Jeff. Returning to my house, I find that my parents have set up a litter box, food and even have a few toys.

My family leaves shortly, graciously giving the two of us space. We decide to stay in, ordering Pokey Stix from Gumby’s, and exchange presents. He helps me come up with the cat’s new name, Belle, and we have a great few days together before we part for the holidays.

All in all, this was the best present, and best surprise, I have ever received in my life. And I am continually apologizing for the stress I put my family through by being so obstinate against them visiting.

