This afternoon, I whipped up a batch of Chocolate Caramel Brownies. They are absolutely decadent and in no way healthy. Its basically a bunch of butter, caramel, and cake mix. These brownies are my absolute favorite treat. The recipe comes courtesy of my mama.

Chocolate Caramel Brownies

Ingredients:
1 Box German Chocolate Cake Mix
3/4 cup melted butter
1 small can of evaporated milk
two handfuls chocolate chips
1/4 cup pecans (optional)
1 package caramels

Here are my ingredients:

I switched it up this time and used white chocolate morsels. I really like the chocolate usually, but felt the recipe needed a twist this time around.

You can use any caramels you want, but I like the caramels without all the wrappers. Its so much quicker.

Preparation:

Mix German choc. cake mix, 3/4 cup melted butter and 1/3 cup evaporated milk (or half the can) in a bowl.

Take half of this mixture and spread on bottom of 9×13 pan. Bake in the oven for four minutes at 350.

While this is baking, take the package of caramels and combine them in a bowl with 1/3 cup of evaporated milk (the rest of the can). Microwave on high for three minutes, stirring halfway through.

After the base of the brownies has finished (should look fairly hard and dry, might take longer than four minutes) take out of the oven. Pour caramel mixture over the base, then sprinkle on the chocolate chips. Finally, take the rest of the cake mix and dab it on top.

I’m horrible at estimating and never have enough cake mix to completely cover the top. It spreads out a little while baking, but in the end, it doesn’t really matter!

After this, bake for 15 minutes at 350. Again, it took me more like 19 minutes for it to look “done.”

Absolutely delicious! My favorite part of these brownie bars are that they are super easy, don’t need a mixer, quick when you are in a crunch, and don’t require a lot of expensive ingredients. They are super rich, though, and these bars don’t have any redeeming health benefits. I find, though, that it does help with my relationships. I foist them off on Mr. Jeff, or take them to work, and they are a guaranteed hit. 😉

While waiting for the brownies to bake, I cut up a tomato for a  snack. I absolutely love raw tomatoes, and this was a great way to fill up my belly so I didn’t go brownie crazy!

I’ve been working on laundry all afternoon and might be seeing Mr. Jeff for a trip to the Rec Center and the pool tonight! Happy Friday!

