On Friday, I once again found myself in the extremely strong grip of a cooking bug. All week I had been planning out this meal, but dessert kept evading me. I had read and read about lasagna and had decided on which one I wanted to cook, but I had no idea what I was going to do for dessert.

I was thinking, maybe cookies, or dirt or just redo the oatmeal raisin bars that I made the week previous?? My thoughts were all over the place.

However, I felt as though I needed something delish. Something super yummy and not so healthy. And then I stumbled upon a recipe that was simple, used all ingredients I had on hand (except one!) and I could whip up in advance.

And what did I decide on?? Crêpes! I had all the ingredients on hand and I could whip  up the batter the night before. On Friday, I cooked the crêpes early in the afternoon, stored them in the fridge until after the lasagna finished cooking in the oven and then warmed the crêpes in the oven while we ate dinner. I bought Nutella for the filling, and it was one of the best desserts ever.

Butter sizzling as I prepared to make the crêpes:

I was super worried about making crêpes. I cannot make pancakes because I feel an urgent need to flip them multiple times. Anyone who makes pancakes knows that you absolutely cannot flip them more than once. On the other hand, crêpes cook so fast, I worried I was flipping them too soon! They ended up turning out perfectly and it was quick paced enough that I didn’t have a chance to second guess my actions.

The end result:

Not the most perfect presentation, but the taste more than made up for that.

My advice to other people wary of crêpes: try them. Repeat after me, it is not as challenging as it seems. You might not be a French chef, but you can make your own damn good crêpes.

